Help with booking a villa direct

Any general questions, tips or information, best beaches, great days and nights out in Menorca.
higgs008
3 Star Supporter
3 Star Supporter

Help with booking a villa direct

Post by higgs008 » September 16th, 2014, 6:06 pm

Hi,

I have been travelling to menorca for the last 9 years and have been booking a villa holiday for the last 3 years. I have been looking at the price online and i am getting some good villas on owners direct and homeandaway, i have never booked direct before and was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback on this and if you have ever had any trouble on arrival. Just a bit nervous about booking direct!

Much Appreciated
Sam

Slartibartfast
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Help with booking a villa direct

Post by Slartibartfast » September 16th, 2014, 6:41 pm

We have booked many holidays, flights and direct with the property owner owner and never had a problem.... But like anything do a little homework first. Read the reviews CAREFULLY owners have been known to post reviews themselves ... Also search for the villa name [ask the owners] and make sure you know exactly where it is. But please note you will not have the services of a rep, some villa management services will help all they can if you have a problem, but you may be on your own.

Have you thought about booking through a villa agency such as http://www.finishingtouch.co.uk/ or http://www.menorcanvillas.info The cost will be very similar and you have some protection and reassurance that you'll get what you booked.

All in all I'd say go for it, good savings can be made and most [but not all] private villas will be furnished to a higher standard than most offered by tour company's
I claim no responsibility for the following disclaimer.
All opinions are my wife's; I have none. (In my opinion.)

ciaran
Bandwidth BlackHole
Bandwidth BlackHole

Post by ciaran » September 16th, 2014, 6:50 pm